Substrate for planted aquarium

mommameerkat

I'm looking at different options for substrate for my (currently lightly) planted tank. I like the idea of having sand for substrate because of the waste sitting on top and being easier to clean, but I read that sand is not ideal for plants because it's too compact for roots to spread. I was thinking about doing different types of substrate layered. I currently have small river rock style gravel, but I hate the level of maintenance required. Would adding sand on top of the gravel work? Or would I be better off just leaving the gravel as is and deal with the maintenance? Or is there a combination anyone has tried that they love? I'm new to this so I would love to hear all of your ideas! I would like to add more plants eventually as well.

Unknown9182

mommameerkat said:
I'm looking at different options for substrate for my (currently lightly) planted tank. I like the idea of having sand for substrate because of the waste sitting on top and being easier to clean, but I read that sand is not ideal for plants because it's too compact for roots to spread. I was thinking about doing different types of substrate layered. I currently have small river rock style gravel, but I hate the level of maintenance required. Would adding sand on top of the gravel work? Or would I be better off just leaving the gravel as is and deal with the maintenance? Or is there a combination anyone has tried that they love? I'm new to this so I would love to hear all of your ideas! I would like to add more plants eventually as well.