Sturtys tanks 200L FW and 200L SW

Discussion in 'Members Fish Tanks' started by Sturty, Dec 20, 2012.

1. S

Sturty Valued Member Member

Just thought id start a thread on my two tanks rather than open dozens of new threads every time i have a new question :)

Firstly im new to keeping fish of any sort, and only have experience with yabbies. Yabbies are EASY to care for and breed when compared to fish lol
    My partner of three years bought me a 6 foot twin tank setup for christmas. Its made up of two 3foot 200L (55g?) tanks

I started the fw tank by filling it with a dozen yabbies including my prize male Rex amd is breeding friend Arrgee. Very very Short story i went to the pet store and ended up with a freah water fish and the offer of 4 salt water fish that need a home within 7days (their tank got sold) or they would be disposed of
    So i left with a few fish and placed them in the fw tank and removed the yabbies a few days later as they attemped to off a fish.
    I now only have rex in a 40L tank (looking for bigger)

I also went about setting up for the salt water fish, i will fully admit i did not prepare enough due to in experience and lack of available products over the 7 days

I got my 4 SW friends at the end of the seven days and put them in the tank with their 100L of existing water, their live rock and substrate.
    As some people may of noticed im having issues with the SW
    Firstly i dont know what all the fish are, i know that two are clown fish but the other two are as yet unconfirmed purple chromis.
    Im also having issue with water quality thats possibly the cause of the chromis turning very very white randomly. i have 80ppm nitrate reading and a possible mini cycle, but the reading finnally started dropping today.
    And thats where the sw guys are at

The fw guys are much happyier, the tank cycled in 4 days (from first setup) my very excited partner purchased more fish while i was at work so i currently have