Struggling snails with what looks like parasites?

Toshia

Hi there-thank you for the add. I am pretty new to snails. I have a 10 gallon tank with a couple mystery snails that had been doing fantastic (or as far as I could tell) and then I purchased some live plants online & rinsed them, then placed them in the aquarium. I mention the plants because my best guess is this is the culprit to bringing in some sort of parasite. Over the weekend there must have been a bloom of whatever this parasite looking thing was because I could see them with my naked eye against the dark background. The snails had a lot on them as well. Their bodies looked sort of shriveled and swollen. I removed them from the tank, rinsed off the buggers and placed them in the “infirmary tank” which is just clean prepped tank water-no gravel, plants, etc. I then did a 50% water change on the tank. I have a few shrimp in there and so far they do not seem to be effected by the aquatic ‘bugs’. By the end of the day, the snails looked much better. I put them back in to see if they would be okay & by the next morning they looked not so well again. So I removed them and ran through the same process and by the end of they day they looked improved again. So now I am not putting them back in until I feel it is safe to do so, but would like some thoughts as to what this might be that is pestering them. And how to safely get rid of it without killing my shrimp… the white background photo is when I first removed the snails-some water dropped from them onto my filing cabinet and I noticed them swimming in the dime sized water puddle. The algae ball photo-the white things visible are mostly moving and swimming. Thanks for your help!

Attachments

• F0BF561F-CA1D-40BA-B144-94CCE0AE31A8.jpeg
    F0BF561F-CA1D-40BA-B144-94CCE0AE31A8.jpeg
    133.4 KB · Views: 13
  • FAFB3995-7082-4869-940A-D1A2A30016E6.jpeg
    FAFB3995-7082-4869-940A-D1A2A30016E6.jpeg
    376.1 KB · Views: 13