Stress Coat or Aquasafe...or both??

1. ~Fanci~ Member Member

I'm new to the aquarium world and recently bought a 10-gallon starter kit a few weeks ago that included a sample pkg of both Stress Coat & AquaSafe. I used the recommended amounts of these and I also added 2 tablespoons of aquarium salt. My question now though is what chemicals do I need to use for a water change and what is best?? Should I treat any new water with the required amounts of both products? I have a 2.5 gallon water jug and bucket am doing a 25% water change/week.
    Also, I read in a few spots that it is a good idea to let your tank and fish "do it's thing" for 4-6 weeks before doing the 1st vacuuming. Is this true? I worry that I have stirred up a lot of the gravel (translate to extra food and fish poop) and am concerned about waiting so long to vacuum.
    I have 2 Dalmation Molles, a highfin pleco and 4 plants (java fern, anubias and wisteria) PLUS 9 fry in a holding net that are 5 days old.
    Any help is VERY, VERY appreciated as one of my fish is currently separated in a 1 gallon tank and is not doing well. Looks like it may be ich, but he is also swimming very irregularly :( Please help!

2. DRock914 Member Member

2 tablespoons of salt is way too much. It sounds like you set your tank up for brackish water. I'm not familiar with AquaSafe but It sounds like it is a different product then your stress coat. Does AquaSafe get rid of chlorine? If so then you should be using both. I use the amount of how much water I put into the tank on water changes. It is not a good idea to not do any WCs for 4-6 weeks. Some people recommend WCs every day when you first setup your tank but I did them every 3 days. When I do WCs I add 1/8 of a tablespoon of aquarium salt. If I were you I wouldn't add any more salt for a couple of WCs so you can get your salinity down. Other people will be by for some help too so don't just rely on my word.

3. Butterfly Moderator Moderator Member

Welcome to Fishlore!