Storage Tank - Too Much? 10 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by AlexAlex, Dec 5, 2012.

1. A

AlexAlex Well Known Member Member

I have decided to pull one of my 10 Gallon Tanks out and use it. I want to kind of re-do my 20 Gallon with other things so I wanted to know if I transfer what I have in the 20 Gallon to the 10 Gallon (some of it) if it would be too much.

The following would be the stock of the 10 Gallon:

8 Neon Tetras
    2 African Dwarf Frogs

And something for Algae, but can't figure out what... I think I have a little bit of room left for a bottom feeder of some kind, so suggestions are welcome on that.

Thank you, Folks.

Alex :)

2. Matt B

Matt B Well Known Member Member

Some people will disagree but imo the neons would be fine in a 10g. I have no experience with dwarf frogs but understand they are poor competitors for food. For algae, a nerite would be good. As far as bottom feeders dwarf or pygmy cories may work but you'll get varying answers as to their suitablility for a 10g. Personally, I would go for ghost shrimp to clean up and hang out on the bottom.

3. monkeypie102

monkeypie102 Well Known Member Member

I think that sounds good to me... though besides snails I am not sure what other kind of bottom feeder would fit in a 10g... maybe pygmy cories?

Ninja'd :) I didn't think about ghost shrimp... 5-6 would help keep the tank clean also :) though they suck as algae eaters xD

4. Jaysee

Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

I would absolutely go shrimp over fish for the bottom in a 10.

5. OP
    OP
    A

I may scrap the Frog idea. It was a thought. I love them, but they are hard to feed and keep well, etc.

On the Neons, I already have those and will just be moving them. I like Cory's and I like the Albinos the best as they would look really cool with a black substrate, but from what I read they would not do as well in a 10 Gallon tank.