Stop my fish from entering my filter?

tropical murphy
I have a tank with an 'inside' filter, which is set in it's own corner of the tank. (Sorry I don't know how to discribe it better, but I'm new to all this).

I was told when I bought it that I couldn't house small fish like Tetras, White Clouds or Zebra Danios because they could enter the holes in my filter. The fish were too small, and would die.

I was wondering if there was a DIY option to close up these holes a bit (such as stretching a woman's stocking or panty hose over the holes)? I would love to have some of these smaller fish in my tank.

I'm not sure if this would work, or even how I would attach the nylons to the filter casing... so I thought I'd ask you guys for advice.

Does anyone have any experience with this type of filter, or a solution?

Changing my filter out for a different system is not an option, as it is sort of an integral part in the design of my tank. I have uploaded some pictures of my it (the filter system) on my profile (as I don't think it's exactly a 'standard' type of set-up).

Thanks.

mosaicguppy
I don't see a picture? Maybe cover it with something, I cover my filter which has a tube where the water goes up and I tie netting over it with a rubber band because I have small fish. You can try something like fly wire if you can find it.

critch
Womens tights, held on with an elastic band..

I have to do it with My Fry tanks..

tropical murphy
Thanks for that Critch, but where do the bands go? I kind of have this corner design - made out of the tank itself - so can't see anywhere for attaching bands/stockings or anything!

Picture is in my profile... maybe you can take a look and see what I'm talking about. Sorry I can't explain it better, but it's like an integral part of my tank...

Kopeth