Stocking Suggestions - 65 Gal

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Wendy12, Apr 7, 2017.

1. Wendy12

Wendy12New MemberMember

I am new to the hobby, Fishlore and this is my first post. I've learned a ton by reading the forums here, so thank you in advance for the wealth of information this site provides. I've made it through a fishless cycle and initial stocking just by reading the information on here so far.

I have a young, 3 month old, 65 gallon community tank. Water parameters are: 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, 5 nitrates, pH 8.0, temp 79. I have an AquaClear 70 and Hydor 350 canister filter. I also have a 10 gal quarantine tank.

Current stock includes:
    5 Sterbai Cory
    7 Black Neon Tetra
    2 Dwarf Gourami
    1 RTS

My family pressured me into the RTS, but so far so good. RTS is getting along with everyone. One of the Gourami tends to bully the other so I may run into a problem there. The dominant Gourami comes to the front of the tank whenever I walk up and is very friendly. The tetras swim around together unless I walk up to the tank and then they tend to school near the top. The cories are adorable and race around together. I have a fair amount of decor with lots of hiding places (see attached pic).

I probably need to add 1-2 more cories and would like another school and maybe something more colorful as a centerpiece. I love the look of Bosemani Rainbows and would eventually like to add a BN pleco once the tank is more mature.

What other stocking suggestions would you have?

Attached Files:

2. Lynn78too

Lynn78tooWell Known MemberMember