Stocking Recommendations

1. S

Sitting In Class New Member Member

Hey there, I'm new to the hobby with a couple of weeks of experience.

I have a Fx6, Natgeo sand, and 2 rocks in the tank. I'm doing a fishless cycle.

Here's my stocking list so far:

2 German Blue Rams
    4 Pearl Gouramis
    3 Kuhli Loach

I wanted recommendations on what other I can stock my tank with.

2. goplecos

goplecos Well Known Member Member

You are really understocked. But I wouldn't do 4 Pearls because they could become aggressive towards each other.
    I would do:
    2 GBRs
    1 Pearl Gourami, or a school of Chocolate Gouramis
    20 Kuhli Loaches
    2 Angelfish (1 male 1 female)
    25 Cardinal Tetras
    another large school of Tetras or Rasboras

3. OP
    OP
    S

Hey, thanks for the recommendations. I also forgot to note that I planned on adding a Leopard Pleco as well. I also read that 1 male pearl and 2 female pearls would be okay, what do you think?

4. goplecos

A Leopard Pleco would be fine. If you get 1 male and 2 female Pearl Gouramis 2 of them will pair up and bully the other female, and if you get a pair they will try and breed and become aggressive towards the other fish in the tank.

5. OP
    OP
    S

Oh, I understand now, thank you for the info. I'll keep a look out for those fish you mentioned when I go to my LFS this Friday.

6. Lance0414

Lance0414 Well Known Member Member

How about
    4 GBRs(1 Male 3 Females)
    16 Bronze Cories or 30 Kuhli Loaches
    6 Croaking Gourami(1 Male 5 Females) or 6 Honey Gourami(1 Male 5 Females)
    25 Cardinal Tetras
    25 Rummynose Tetras
    1 Leopard Pleco
    Temp.-78'F

7. OP
    OP
    S

Thanks for the reply.
    I've never heard of the croaking gourami but now that I have I think I'm in love. They look beautiful!
    Right now, I have a pair of GBRs in quarantine so I'll try to find 2 more females and the cardinals seem great.

8. Lance0414

Lance0414 Well Known Member Member

Good Luck!

9. Anders247