6 albino cory catfish
    1 blue blushing angel fish
    1 fancy red swordtail

I own a 30 gal.
    30 long× 19 high× 12wide
    250 gal per hour filter
    200w heater
    Artificial plants and large wood piece

Please tear this apart if its a bad idea. But also give recommendations if possible. THANK YOU

2. AllieSten

AllieSten Fishlore VIP Member

Ok I am not very good with stocking. But I am good with filter recommendations. With a 30 gallon you should be shooting for 300gph. I would either upgrade the filter or add 2 sponge filters to boost your filtration. More filtration is better. Especially if you are going to fully stock your tank. My favorite filter right now is the Seachem Tidal powerfilter. A 75 would be perfect for the 30 gallon. It has a 350gph.

I do know your 6 albino cories will do just fine in a 30. As I have 6 albino cories in my 30 gallon, and they do just fine. lol

3. OP
    OP
    Manuel1223

Manuel1223 Valued Member Member

Thats a great tip!! Right now i only have 7 fish in. But once cycled ill look at anew filter! What type of stock do you have

4. BottomDweller

BottomDweller Fishlore VIP Member

I would do this
    10 cardinal tetras or 8 cherry barbs
    3 male mollies
    8 albino cories
    1 angel fish
    1 swordtail

5. OP
    OP
    Manuel1223

Why the cardinal over the red eye?

6. vikingkirken

vikingkirken Well Known Member Member

I think your filtration is fine. The recommendation is 8-10x the volume of the tank, and you're well within that, particularly as you have a 29g, not a 30g... I know it seems inconsequential, but the length is different, which does change your stocking options.

I think if you cut back on your mollies, your stocking is fine. But you are skirting a fine line with temp, as red eye tetras prefer water under 80, while angels like it upper 70s-80s; you'll probably want to keep temp at 77.

7. OP
    OP
    Manuel1223

My 200w heater is preset at 78. I cant change it. Thats fine?