Stocking Question

1. Saxman171 Initiate Member

I'm somewhat new to fishkeeping. I've had 2 male bettas since about June of this year, and both seem to be happy and healthy in their own tanks, so I decided a little while back that I wanted to start a slightly bigger tank (still small though), so I got a 5.5 gallon setup and cycled it before adding any fish, of course. I got some fish that I liked and added them (one at a time over the course of about a month). They all seem to get along very well with each other. I was just wondering if anybody had any input on the fish I have stocked in this tank. I'm worried that the 5.5 gallon may be a tad small for the powder blue gourami (although the guy at the store said 5 was fine, but I'm still worried). He seems fine for now, but he's not full grown yet so I'm not sure if this will end up being too small for him or not. Anyway, any input you have is appreciated. If I have screwed up somewhere, please let me know. It's my first shot at a small community tank and I want to fix it if I messed up. The tank info is in my signature. Thank you!

2. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome! It's good to hear you've done your homework and cycled the tank.

Unfortunately, the dwarf gourami is too big for a 5.5 gallon. A 10 is the minimum, IMO. The same could be said about the other fish, too, I'm sorry to say.

3. Saxman171 Initiate Member

oops....

I guess I somehow disabled my signature on accident on that last post.... the info is in my signature for real this time :)

4. Saxman171 Initiate Member

I'm not sure why but when I preview the post it shows the signature but then I can't see it in the thread...
    Now it's working....

5. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

Your aquarium info is accurate, right?

6. Saxman171 Initiate Member

I believe so. I'm still trying to get used to this site.

7. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

All looks good to me. Haven't seen your sig yet though.

8. Saxman171 Initiate Member