Stocking My 2nd Tank A 180 Gallon

BlazenFisher

Reaction score
I am relatively new to fish keeping but wound up with a 180 gallon tank about a month after cycling the tank I have
20 Zebra Danios
4 BN plecos
4 Swordtails
8 Green cory cats
4 mystery snails + babys

living happily in my tank. I was wondering, One, which schools needed more fish and how many. Also two, if there was possibly a single larger "center piece" fish i could add. Please keep in mind this is a planted tank with about 7.5 ph.

Thanks

DutchAquarium

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
All the schooling numbers look fine. I would actually up the corydoras school to get a better effect, but your numbers are fine. I would also look into getting some pearl gourami, angels, or discus for your larger center piece fish. they actually arent super hard to take care of like many people think. I would also caution you on the zebra danios which are a colder water species of fish. they like it around 75 degrees max while the others want a temp closer to 79. In order to most benefit your fish, i would switch on the danios for another species.

BlazenFisher

Reaction score
Thank you for the input. My tank is at 77F and all the danios/others have seemed quite happy for the past month. I will keep a closer eye on them but i love the danios and don't want to get rid of them (or catch all those fast buggers).
I do like the idea of a Gourami or Angel. As long as they will be okay at the temp, being alone and that the Danios wont harass them too much. I was also thinking of something like a red tailed shark or rainbow shark? Or will these be too aggressive?

Again Thankyou

DutchAquarium

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years