15 Gallon Tank Stocking ideas for small community tank?

humomo

I am currently cycling a 15 gallon planted tank and I am starting to settle on a general idea of what kind of fish I'd like, but would really appreciate some help and advice since I'm still a beginner in the hobby!

My water is pretty hard (GH gets up to 14, KH up to 10 - usually at 6) and my pH is around 7.0-7.2 at all times. The temperature stays around 25°C (sometimes a bit hotter these days, and I also have a heater ready for colder days).

I have 6 bigger plants in the tank, a piece of wood, some rocks and black substrate, so it is pretty full with a lot of hiding places and some decent swimming space.
F63A72E6-08EF-4395-B47B-278D6C6F4F72.jpeg

On to my general stocking idea:
- 1 honey gourami
- 10 chili rasboras /
or 10 harlequin rasboras (I am worried about water hardness) /
or a small group (3-5) of guppies/endlers (could I keep males only?)
- 10 cherry shrimp (hopefully establish a colony, I don't mind some of them or the babies becoming food)
- 1 assasin snail (to control pest snail population)

What do you think the best combination would be? Would you recommend against some species due to my tank parameters?

I would really love to have a nice community tank, so a centerpiece + a group of smaller fish + shrimp. I could also settle for a trio of guppies and a school of tetras but I don't know what tetras would do well in my tank. All advice is much appreciated!!!

CoryMaster151

Hey There!

I would get some Corydoras as they are quite a peaceful fish and love to just cruise around the tank and they don’t disturb any of the other fish. If you were wanting to get some, keep them in a group of 5 or more as they are quite a social fish and are a lot happier in a group. They also eat any remaining food that any of the other fish have not eaten. Hope this helps
Best of luck!

Upvote 0

JettsPapa

Welcome to the forum. I like your general plan, but have a few things (since you asked).