Stocking Ideas For New Tank

1. M

Mandy389 Initiate Member

Hello everyone I am new to owning large tanks.
    I have currently set up a 55 gallon freshwater tank. I have a Marineland 220 canister filter, I have another HOB I can add on if needed but I would rather stick with the canister if I can and avoid the HOB they are clunky and loud imho.
    I have it around 75 degrees atm. I am currently waiting for it to cycle but when it’s ready I would like to have my stocking plan ready. I have no live plants only some moss balls.
    I like..
    Dalmatian Molly’s
    Platys
    Angelfish
    Plecco
    Rope fish (reed fish)

Please tell me how many of these I can keep and if they are compatible together. Thank you.
    I want to keep my tank as clean as possible so I don’t have to add in the HOB so if I have to sacrifice owning any kinds of fish to keep it cleaner that’s fine! Thanks!

2. ChaseAce

ChaseAce Member Member

Rope fish may not be too good of an idea since they get over a foot long and enjoy being in groups. It would be difficult to keep the tank clean with that much fish.

I'm not too sure on the mollies or platys since I've never had them, but I definitely wouldn't suggest more than 3 angels in a 55. I've currently got 1 in a 60 and then added other smaller fish to add some life. It seems to pretty well.

How many plecos depends on the species you want

3. FishGirl38

FishGirl38 Member Member

Before you choose what fish you like, have you really explored the types of fish out there? Consider where you are going to buy your fish. There's a lot you can do with 55 gallons. Are you sure you want community types? have you considered african cichlids? There are also rainbowfish (my personal favorite are male bosemani), tetra (Emperor tetra/kerri tetra are a favorite) , rasbora (harlequin rasbora), barbs (gold barbs are quite flashy).