Stocking ideas for four new tanks?

lilirose

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I haven't posted here in quite a while but I have been keeping tanks since the early 1980s. I currently have four nano tanks and have decided to turn my living room into a fish room (small house, lol). I am very experienced with nano tanks and really have no desire to set up a huge tank- I'd rather have many small tanks.

At the moment I have four new tanks on order: one 72 liter (19 US gallons), one 54 liter (14 US gallons), and two 30 liter (8 US gallons). I plan to fishless cycle and heavily plant but stay low-tech (no CO2), then stock when the tanks and plants are well established.

I love Bettas and Gouramis, but I already have two domestic Bettas and am about to get two Betta Imbellis for my established 90 liter (23 US gallon). I'm thinking about trying something completely new to me, like GBRs, Apistos, or Kribensis, but I've never kept dwarf cichlids, and all the info I find online assumes that everyone will want to breed. I do not want to breed my fish, because I live in an extremely rural area and there is nobody who will buy the babies, but I don't know if you can keep only males or if they will fight, or if you can keep one of them on its own.

I didn't post this to the cichlid forum because I'm also looking for other possibilities. I can say that at least one of these tanks will be a shrimp-only tank, but I haven't decided which one yet. I'm also thinking of getting a pea puffer but I also haven't kept those before and don't really know how easy/difficult they are to feed. I'll probably stock the bigger two tanks with tetras or rasboras, but I'm looking for suggestions for one or two centre-piece fish mainly. I'm also considering dwarf gouramis in the biggest of the three.

Any suggestions or advice?

CichlidFreak7000

Reaction score
Experience
2 years