Stocking ideas for community 30gal

1. Florian Pellet Well Known Member Member

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner to fish keeping. I started with a low-tech 2.5gal shrimp & marimo, and then upgraded to a 16gal inverted tank in which I now have:
    • 30 red cherry shrimps (reproducing)
    • 1 halfmoon betta (peaceful)
    • 10 harlequin rasboras (laying eggs all over the place)
    • dwarf hairgrass and dwarf baby tears (nicely carpeting)
    • elodea (amazingly fast growing)
    • marimo moss balls (doing absolutely nothing)
    Based on how everything is going, I think I have a good setup. Everybody lives in peace, plants are doing amazing, water is clear and parameters are great...

I'm about to upgrade to a 78x38cm tank, 38cm deep, which is about 110L (31"x15", 15" deep, 30gal), and everybody is going to move to the new tank. According to AqAdvisor, my stocking level will be about 43%, and my filter is still way overkill.

What would you guys add to this tank to make it interesting to look at?

Usually my shrimps are hovering around in the tank in the morning and then settle for the day, my betta is like a cat trying to find all the holes he can fit into and bothering the shrimps (though never biting), and the rasboras are schooling and being very lively. I like all that, I like active life. I'm not very interested in snails or nocturnal fish or other low activity critters. I would also really enjoy a second centerpiece fish, but it would have to be ok with being around a betta at all times!

If it was your tank, what would you do?

PS: current bad ideas include (but not limited to) dwarf puffer, female betta, dwarf crayfish, african dwarf frog...

2. Innocent159 Member Member

Cory (which ever breed you prefer). I had albino cory and they have a nice personality. Was fun to watch them when they are moving. 6 to 8 would be a nice addition

3. FallenOwl Well Known Member Member