Stocking Ideas For 55g?

Flipflops82

Reaction score
Hi guys. I just cycled my 55g. I have it setup with the topfin filter it came with along with a sunsun 304b. Temps running around 78. So far I have added just 6 bloodfin tetra to slowly introduce some fish. They are active and happy and have been in the tank for 4 days now. Keep in mind I am a beginner at this only having another aquarium as a kid. But so far so good. I am a little overwhelmed on the fish choices out there and need some ideas. I have several live plants...java fern, Amazon sword, and a few anubis. I'm using ecocomplete substrate and wondering if cory can be on that?
Some other ideas I've had are: male guppies, cherry shrimp, panda cory, german blue rams, gourami, angelfish......(not all of these just fish species ideas)

Again I need some help on numbers and ideas to add to the 6 I have. I like the idea of a variety and then a few centerpiece fish.
Thanks in advance!

jdhef

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to FishLore!

Have you given any thought to keeping Rainbow fish?

Jayda97

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
My tank honestly sounds right up your alley! I have 5 honey gouramis, 2 bolivian rams, 8 rummynose tetras, 10 cherry barbs and 10 panda corydoras. They all get along (except potentially one of my gourami as of today because i might have 2 males not just 1 like we thought). I also wanted cherry shrimp but i dont want them to get eaten. I have mine in a 45g so since you have a 55 you could do a bigger school with your bloodfin tetras than i have with my rummynoses. Of course substitute to your hearts desire lol. But choose your centrepiece(s) and 1-2 top/mid level schoolers and a school of corys of your choice for the bottom. I chose what i did because the tetras are top middle and the barbs are middle bottom so they arent in the exact same swim column. The red of the barbs also matches the noses of the tetras

Nick72

Well Known Member
Reaction score