Stocking Ideas For 20 Gallon High Help 

Wyatt Castle

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to this whole forum thing but I just got my first 20-gallon tank (photo attached) and am looking to stock it I just don't know what is and isn't okay. I would love to do a tank with a few dwarf gouramis or blue rams, mollies, guppies, and some cleaner fish. Please if you guys could help me out and make a list of good stocking options that would be much appreciated. Thanks, guys and glad to be a part of the community!

Attachments

I like fish123

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
This is a short list but guppies are great starters.Also, you should check out this website before getting a blue ram if you decide to

Wyatt Castle

Reaction score
Bobthefishkeeper said:
This is a short list but guppies are great starters.Also, you should check out this website before getting a blue ram if you decide to
Thank you I will definitely look into that. Do you have any suggestions as far as a stocking list?

I like fish123

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
For a new member I would try guppies or Gouramis but cycle your tank first without the fish.Also have you looked into shrimp? Their great at cleaning algea and leftover food

Barch

Valued Member
Reaction score
You could do Gouramis. I have 2 in my 20 high, with a bunch of long fin and neon tetras as well. Good acitivty in the tank and all fish are generally harmless to eachother.

Wyatt Castle

Reaction score
MAGA said:
You could do Gouramis. I have 2 in my 20 high, with a bunch of long fin and neon tetras as well. Good acitivty in the tank and all fish are generally harmless to eachother.

I have read that you are supposed to do 1 male gourami and 2 females? also how many fish do you have total in your tank. also what cleaner fish?

I like fish123

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Shrimp!

Barch

Valued Member
Reaction score
Wyatt Castle said: