Help Stocking Heavily Planted 40b

boycottbeef

Reaction score
I am interested in putting together a community in a standard 40b, and would like to keep glass cats, harlequin rasboras, kuhli loaches, rummynose tetras, RCS, snails, and maybe a centerpiece fish such as a golden dojo loach, pink paddleton eel, or spiny eel... Most of all, I want to keep the glass cats. The tank would be heavily planted (like, almost Dutch), use a Tidal 75 HOB filter, and probably two 100W or 150W heaters.

I definitely don't want to overstock the tank, but I would like to have this arrangement of fish if possible, keeping the fishes' comfort in appropriately sized schools as a priority: 9-10 glass cats, 10-14 harlequin rasboras, 6 rummynose tetras, 5 kuhli loaches, 12-20 RCS, 3-6 snails (probably nerite, maybe a handful of MTS to manage the substrate), and 1 centerpiece fish preferably of eel-like nature... It seems to check out on aquadviser.com, but I have limited experience at this point.

Any advice/direction would be helpful. Thanks!

CaptainAquatics

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
I am interested in putting together a community in a standard 40b, and would like to keep glass cats, harlequin rasboras, kuhli loaches, rummynose tetras, RCS, snails, and maybe a centerpiece fish such as a golden dojo loach, pink paddleton eel, or spiny eel... Most of all, I want to keep the glass cats. The tank would be heavily planted (like, almost Dutch), use a Tidal 75 HOB filter, and probably two 100W or 150W heaters.