Stocking And Water Changes

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by Punkus_Magunkus, Apr 12, 2019.

1. Punkus_MagunkusValued MemberMember

Sorry for asking so many questions I underestimated how much there was to learn about saltwater but this should be the last of my questions. Anyways my plan for the tank is some dry rock that I will hopefully add some life to, a small filter until at least the rocks are going for the cycle. I was wondering about what I could even stock in a 10 gallon, maybe a pair of clowns? As previously stated I am a complete noob to saltwater and don't know much about the fish so any suggestions that would be easy to care for would be appreciated, also the more common they are the better. And water changes in saltwater are of course a bit more difficult than freshwater having to match the salinity and all that jazz, but how often are saltwater water changes needed, and in what percents? How much does a refugium help with the water quality? I know a refugium isn't needed in this size of a tank but I would like to know my options and how it would affect my tank.

2. nikm128Fishlore VIPMember

@Jesterrace and @stella1979 will be of more help than me, but I think you could do a pair of occelaris clowns in a 10g, there are more options than you might think though. As for the water changes, similarly to freshwater, the tank parameters will have the most influence on how much and how often. As a baseline I always suggest 25% a week, then change more if the desired parameters aren't met.
    Also, you have to mix the salt right for a water change if you're not buying saltwater, and when you top off the tank every so often, you don't add more saltwater, you add freshwater

3. JesterraceWell Known MemberMember