Stocking And Set-up Advice 10 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Foxyfish, Apr 17, 2018.

1. Foxyfish

FoxyfishNew MemberMember

Hello! I'm new to Fishlore but I've been researching on this site for a long time.

I just bought a 10 gal and made sure it didn't leak - now I'm researching the best stocking choices. So far we have made a few decisions about the tank (my friend and I are running it together, since he got me into fish)
    I can't go above 10 gal (which sucks because I wanted to start at 30. . .) because my university doesn't allow more gallons. . . but we're making do with a 10 gal in terms of stocking.
    (and frequent water changes aren't an issue! we're willing to put as much time in as possible)

Decisions so far:
    It's going to be a so-so blackwater tank. So-so because the fish aren't all indigenous to the same region. I did make sure that I chose species that all favor the same conditions - low current, subdued lighting, soft water with acidic - neutral pH. Basically blackwater conditions. The plants will be mostly native plants as well, and I'm a huge aqua-sculpting buff so it will be heavily planted.

Lighting: I'm going to do a pretty dim light throughout the tank, but I want to create some spotlights that shine on specific areas where there can be denser plant-life. This way I can grow a little forest of plants and keep the overall lighting subdued.

Substrate: I'm doing very fine sand over this volcano rich rainforest substrate for the plants. I'm trying to find dark sand if possible

Filters: I haven't looked into specific filters yet so any recommendations are appreciated!​

(sorry I know this is a lot, but my friend and I are pretty obsessive and we want to be thorough)

Stocking choices:
    So far we have decided on 4-5 cory habrosus/dainty cories (i love cories so much) and 2 peacock gudgeons (my friend insists on these). I have heard that gudgeons do better in a m/f pair so that's why we're doing two