Stocking and plant ideas for 29g

OldNautical

I’ve got a 29g that’s been sitting around for a while that I need to finally get around to setting up. The only fish I know for certain I will be having in it is a school of cardinal tetras (I have some in a five gallon right now that deserve an upgrade), but other than that I’m pretty open to ideas for stocking. I’d also like it to be a pretty heavily planted tank, however I’m new to plants (the only plants I currently own is a dying Java fern, I don’t know why it’s dying I’m doing everything I can for it) and don’t have fancy lights or anything. The tank it pretty tall so what are some taller plants that don’t need a high tech setup to thrive? Maybe some root feeders as I have yet to have luck with water column feeders?

jake37

These are my two 29s to give you some ideas:

--
With the cardinals you will want to keep the tank around 80 give or take a little. I'd suggest some gold rams (m/f); some l204 (2) and some pangio myersi (7). If you don't like the gold rams you could consider a betta or 3 apistogramma (m/f/f).
--
For plants I'd suggest some pogostemon stellatus octopus along the back edge mixed in with a little italia jungle val. A single aponogeton boivinianus back center; some driftwood in the middle (and maybe a coconut shell). A melon sword (for deep green with some red/purple) on the left and a crypt wendit red on the right mid front. Then a couple of anubia (there are 100's) that have nice interesting leaf shape followed by a little java fern mixed in with the drift wood.

OldNautical

jake37 said:
These are my two 29s to give you some ideas:

--
With the cardinals you will want to keep the tank around 80 give or take a little. I'd suggest some gold rams (m/f); some l204 (2) and some pangio myersi (7). If you don't like the gold rams you could consider a betta or 3 apistogramma (m/f/f).
--