Stocking Advice For Fowlr Tank 50 Gallon Tank

1. L

Louise83 New Member Member

Im new to saltwater tanks and setting up a 50g FOWLR tank.
    I know its a long way off but deciding on my stocking for it eventually. Want a good number but dont want to be overstocked at all (so advice on that please)

Ocellaris Clownfish
    Watchman Goby
    Banded Coral Shrimp
    Orchid Dottyback
    Longnose Hawkfish
    Bangaii Cardinal

Do you think this is a compatible lot?
    Im hoping for fairly peaceful but very colourful. Ive always loved Royal Dottybacks but have been reading the Orchid has a better temperament.
    Im open to other suggestions too (nothing that will outgrow the tank) the one im most set on is the Clownfish and would really love some purple in there. Have also looked at purple firefish, firefish and flasher wrasse. But the list is my prefered. I love the purple firefish but they are very timid. Another option is to get a purple firefish instead of the orchid dottyback and leave the hawkfish as it might prey on it. Then get something more suitable to replace the hawkfish

Any other suggestions would be great too

Advice would be very much appreciated please

2. J

Jesterrace Well Known Member Member

Looks like you did some research and are on the right track. You are correct about the Orchid. The captive bred Orchid Dottyback is the only Dottyback I ever recommend to people due to the more docile nature and vibrant coloration that they have. The only concern I would have about the hawkfish would be if you end up with a small Bangaii. I have a PJ Cardinal and until it reaches close to full size, a hawkfish could definitely make a meal out of it. Just be aware that the labeling of ANY clownfish as Peaceful is a misnomer. ALL CLOWNFISH are territorial/semi-aggressive to some degree. The Occ variety tend to be on the lower end of the spectrum though.

3. OP
    OP
    L