Stocking a new cichlid tank

Hookednotspooked
Hi Guys this is my first post so please be gentle!!
I am nearing the end of my fishless cycle
Tank is a 260 ltr bow front
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrates off the scale!!
So I plan on doing large water changes to get the nitrates down to a manageable level before adding some peacocks and or haps.
My question is do I stock gradually or introduce everyone at the same time?

Wouldratherwatchaquarium
Hi and welcome.

Usually introducing slowly is the best way to avoid overloading your good bacteria colony and getting spikes of ammonia or nitrite.

Whith cichlids however adding just 2 or 3 is going to elevate aggression between those.

Im not an expert on cichlids, perhaps add a group of 4 or 5 at a time and moniotor water closely and aggression.

Hookednotspooked
Hi thanks for your reply,
this is the quandary I find myself in.
As it is a new tank I don't want to overload the bacteria colony by introducing lots of fish at the same time.
On the other hand it seems to be not the best plan to introduce them slowly either.
Maybe a middle ground approach will be best?

Roman96
I've personally never had that much of a problem with "overloading" a new tank's bacterial colony. I wouldn't add the complete final stocking to a newly cycled tank, but with african cichlids (what I assume you mean) they are usually juveniles when I see them at the store, meaning they won't create to much waste. Although, I just commonly see Mbuna and Peacocks, not Haps.

Add 4 or 5, and like Wouldratherwatchaquarium said, watch parameters closely and do a water change when needed (which is when ammonia or nitrite gets a little to high). Having ammonia and nitrites should either not be an issue at all or only an issue for a week or two if you cycled the tank correctly.

Hookednotspooked
Thanks for sharing guys
Once my nitrates are under control I'll follow both your advice and introduce 4 or 5 fish to the tank before fully stocking.