Stocking a 36 Gallon Bowfront

1. Coles Initiate Member

I have been looking around the forums for some suggestions on what to stock my bow front with, but I have yet to find the right stock that stands out for me. I have recently purchased the bow front, and have been cycling it for a few weeks now. All of the water levels are perfect, and I believe it's time to start stocking.

I do have a few fish that I do like, for instance gouramis, angels and a few other types of cichlids, but I am open to all suggestions.

A little about the tank;
    It currently has black & blue gravel, which I am looking into upgrading to aquarium sand. I would eventually like to introduce some live plants to help with the oxygen levels, but I have no knowledge in what I would need to actually do that.

I'm running the filter system that came with the tank, but I am going to be purchasing a bigger size to help with the filtration eventually, once the fish are stocked. There's a black background on the tank and the fake plants & decoration all have a pop of colour, which I would like to see the tank have.

The tank is also heated at 78, but I am open to fish of a higher or lower temperature, as I may buy a new heater that is more customizable.

Thanks in advance!

2. superbutterfly12 Well Known Member Member

Based on what you've said you like..I'd do a cut down version of what I'm planning for my 58 gallon.

1 angel fish
    1 german ram
    1 dwarf gourami OR 2 honey gourami
    6-8 sterbai cories OR kuhli loaches
    6-8 medium tetras: diamond, skirt or penguin come to mind

3. Geoff Well Known Member Member

I have a 36g bowfront as well. I have one male pearl gourami, 12 cherry barbs, 12 espei rasboras, and a m/f pair of cockatoo cichlids.

4. Coles Initiate Member

I like this suggestion! Just not 100% sure on the tetra choice. Any other suggestions?

I like this one too, but unsure if my LFS has cockatoos :(

5. superbutterfly12 Well Known Member Member

As alternates to the tetras: