Stocking a 125gal. Its complicated :)

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by MojoRIsin, Jun 26, 2016.

1. M

MojoRIsin New Member Member

Howdy ya'll. First time poster but I've been reading this forum off and on for some years. I'm going to apologize now because I think this is going to be a long post. Any veteran aquarists that read through it and can offer suggestions I would be greatly appreciative.

A little quick background: I've been obsessed with aquariums since I was about 10 years old and repeatedly murdered random schools of tetras trying to keep them in 10 gallon tanks. I've been keeping aquariums for over 20 years but cut back about 10 years ago to a single tank. Recently we bought a bigger house and I finally have the room (and stability) to stock large tanks again.

I am cycling a 125 gal long tank (22"L x 72.5"W x 23.375"H) in my livingroom. I want to make it as perfect of a self-contained eco-system that I can so the plan is to introduce species from the bottom up to create a nice balance. I know what roles the species in the tank need to play but I'm having a hard time deciding just what species to use.

The plan for the tank:
    Substrate sandy (undecided just what type yet)
    Medium density planting with both ends heavily planted
    Some flat rocks placed among heavily planted areas to offer spawning grounds
    Cave system made out of halved clay pots glued together with aquarium silicon and covered in moss for realistic look rear-center of the tank (possibly might make several smaller cave systems instead of one big one).
    Large piece of driftwood possibly mounted to the top of the tank if I use too much ground space up.
    Mechanical/biological filtration undecided yet but most likely a canister filter, powerhead, and a DIY CO2 rig.

water temp around 80 degrees, ph 6, soft soft water