Stocking 36 Gallon Bow Front.

Rgriffeth

Reaction score
Good Day,
I am kind of new to the hobby. I have a 36 gallon bow front aquarium with live plants. Right now I have 6 cory cats, 6 red barbs, 1 Bolivian Ram, and 1 Gold German Ram. I keep the tank at 81 degrees. I use a fluval 406 canister filter. I completed a 6 week fishless cycle before adding fish. I do a 30% water change weekly and then once a month a 50%. I also do water test every 2 days. The 2 rams came from a friend. As for the others they came from a 10 gallon I started with. My questions are, am I doing this correctly, and can I add any more fish comfortably? Also some ideas of what fish would be great if I have the room. I attached a picture of the setup. All plants are real except the vein draping on the left and the patches of grass at the bottom.

Attachments

Feohw

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Which corys are they? Many corys like cooler water than what GBR like. Bolivians prefer it cooler too. I wouldn't recommend mixing Bolivians and GBR. Personally I would maybe consider rehoming one, especially if the corys are cooler water corys. By red barbs do you mean cherry barbs or rosy barbs? Aside from those points, there is room for other fish.

I would personally like this stocking, though there's plenty of fish to choose from:
2x Bolivian
8x barbs
8x corys
3x honey gourami

Rgriffeth

Reaction score