Stocking 29g (shrimp friendly)

SneakyBeakyBecky

Hi I'm relatively new to fish keeping and looking to get some fish! My tank is cycled and the latest residents (shrimp) were added 3 weeks ago and have been thriving. It is a planted tank with CO2 and a good number of stem plants, floaters, as well as a nice honking piece of driftwood. I've been leaning towards some cardinal tetras and corydoras but not sure how many or if it would be smart to mix them since I've read that both enjoy having enough friends to shoal. I've considered a betta but I've heard they can sometimes be a shrimp bully and generally not play well in community tanks (so I'm interested, but not optimistic about this option currently).

Current residents:
General questions:
  1. Is stocking corys and tetras together a good idea? If yes, how many of each?
  2. Are there other good relatively-easy fish? I like colorful and/or goofy personalities.
  3. Is it possible to have a betta in a community tank? Are there ways to find a laid back betta?

connorjs1004

Corys and tetras are almost like a match made in heaven lol :)
The majority of community fish are pretty easy fish to keep in general so it all just comes down to what fish you like
Bettas can live in community tanks, but a lot of times its hit or miss depending on what that specific bettas personality is.
Neocaridina shrimp don't get as big as others like amanos, so even smaller fish like tetras may pick on them and eat their young. It really all just depends on how much cover the tank has

Jerionslot

I'd stray away from a betta, as like you said they have a tendency to feed on shrimp, or sometimes just kill them for the fun of it. There are some very pretty tetras, but even prettier rasboras and dwarf rainbows. If you wanted schooling fish, try 8 Furcata or Threadfin Rainbows, or maybe 6-8 Emerald Rasboras. Either way, corydoras sound like a great idea, very classic fish!

redmare

Here's my 29 gal stocking you might like!