Stocking 29 Gallon Freshwater (with Rosy Barbs)

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by ahupe13, Mar 23, 2016.

1. ahupe13

ahupe13New MemberMember

Ratings:
    +0
    Experience:
    3 years
    Hey guys, I have a few years of fishkeeping experience from a couple years ago but have been researching getting back into the hobby. The tank/equipment that I can afford right now is for a 29 gallon. know all about cycling and such and I'm planning for the tank to be low-tech but reasonably heavy planted with driftwood. I'm mostly just worried about bioload/overstocking.
    Right now my only stocking parameter is that I want a school of long-finned rosy barbs. I know that they can get up to 5ish inches but I love them. I also like congo tetras (another big one) and i'm worried about overstocking if I were to put a school of both in the tank. I'm also floating some other options. Right now i'm tentatively thinking:

Stock A:
    5x Rosy Barbs
    Amano shrimp
    A top and/or top-mid dwelling fish to even out the tank (maybe some type of dwarf cichlid or pearl gourami or ???)
    doubtful but maybe a few kuhli loaches?

Stock B:
    5x Rosy Barbs
    5x Congo tetras
    Amano shrimp

I could take or leave most of these options, and am completely open to other possibilities, other than mollies/platys/guppies (don't like their look that much)

2. Dovah

DovahWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +35
    Experience:
    3 years
    Hello, @ahupe13! Welcome to Fish Lore!

I'm not great with stocking questions but I do believe that rosy barbs will be too large for a 29 gallon tank. Your shoaling fish numbers should also be bumped up to at least six individuals per species.

@TexasDomer @Anders247 @ may be able to help. :)

3. TexasDomer

TexasDomerFishlore LegendMember

Ratings:
    +9,064
    Experience:
    2 years
    Welcome to Fishlore! I wouldn't put rosy barbs or Congo tetras in a 29 gal, but there are lots of other options for schooling fish!