Stock and compatibility? 10 Gallon Tank 

danio_mano

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hey all, im new to the aquarium scene and just need some help with stocking my tank. Ive got a 10g tank with 4 zebra danio's and 4 male guppies. How many more fish can i have? I really dont want to overstock the tank. Ive been looking at cory's @ my LFS and they seem cool. Ive read they need to be in groups of 4 at a min, is this true. Also ive got alpine spar as a substrate which is quite large & angular, so do i need to replace this with sand (will rinsed playpit sand be ok?) O ye and do I really need to buy sinking pellets/ algea wafers for the cory's?

Ammonium Nitrite Nitrate pH

0.25 0 20 7.5

Shawnie

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I would get the tank cycled first with daily water changes to keep the fish safe......and then I think you are maxed out if you are keeping all you have in there now....especially with 4 male guppies.....they will be sparring often with a 10g ....space is an issue and adding more fish will remove more space for them to have .....

Flyfrod

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I agree with shawnie, your biggest concern is to cycle that tank. Then once every thing is good think about finding a new home for either the danios or guppies and get 4 or 5 pygmy cory.

danio_mano

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
You say my tank isnt cycled... not to sure what you mean, im reading minimal to no ammonium (colour yellow) no nitrite (colour pale blue) and nitrate readings... Does that not mean the tanks already cycled?

Shawnie

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
danio_mano said:
You say my tank isnt cycled... not to sure what you mean, im reading minimal to no ammonium (colour yellow) no nitrite (colour pale blue) and nitrate readings... Does that not mean the tanks already cycled?