Stock 125 Mbuna Tank

mikkicvp
I'm pretty new to Mbunas. I've had yellow labs in a 40 breeder for two years, but I just upgraded to a 125. It came with 3 yellow tail aceis, 5 cobalt zebras, and 5 red peacock fry (currently growing out in a 5), plus the 6 yellow labs that I already had. I'd like to try adding the peacocks when they're bigger, but worst case they can go in the 40 breeder. My question is what else should I add? And how many fish would be fully stocked?

I'm for sure looking for rusties. I'd also like to find something dark blue like demosani. I'm a little concerned demosani might be too aggressive though, especially if I stick with the peacocks going in the 125. What are your experiences with demosani? Or what are some similarly colored less aggressive species? What other species should I look at to add more color variety?

Advertisement
jmaldo
"Welcome" to the Forum. I am planning an African Cichlid build, so your title caught my eye. No real help I can give right now. But I have been following a few threads and A201 and MacZ have been offering informative advice.

Will be Watching.

Advertisement
A201
A six foot, 125 gallon opens up quite a few options. To start, build a complex & elevated hardscape, preferably Limestone, leaving the mid to upper levels of the tank open for Peacocks & Haps. Four inches of small grain gravel or sand substrate.
Mbuna love to dig & it helps stabilize rocks.
I'm not big on Mbuna breeding colonies, but do keep select male Mbuna like Zebra Chalumba, Purple Afra, Blue fin Red Zebra & Rusties.
Look at male Haps like the Red Empress, Nimbochromis Fusco & Livingstoni, Steveni Taiwan Reef & Borleyi. Plenty of blue coloration there. Look forward to updates.
20200723_192338.jpg
20200723_192240.jpg
20200723_192203.jpg
20200723_192119.jpg
20200723_192046.jpg

mikkicvp