Starting my journey to breed mollies/guppies 55 Gallon Split Tank?

JEGuerra

I bought a 55 gallon tank off marketplace awhile ago and after asking you guys and some other pros I know, I have decided to use it to breed. Originally I was just going to breed mollies in it but after doing some research I want to breed both mollies and guppies. My question is do you think it'd be ok if I used a tank splitter to split the tank in half and breed mollies in one half and guppies in the other?

Wouldratherwatchaquarium

I don't see why it wouldn't work. Give the mollies 2/3rds and the guppies 1/3 or something.

JEGuerra

I bought a 55 gallon off of marketplace a couple weeks ago and have been thinking about what to do with it. After awhile I decided I wanted to split the tank in half and use one side to breed mollies and one side to breed guppies. I do plan to sell to my LFS and online where possible. Do you have any advice for me as this is my first time dedicating a tank specifically for breeding. Any and all advice helps!

Noroomforshoe

There is no reason to separate the guppy fry from the molly fry that I can think of, you need to separate the parents from the fry. and you could separate the tank for that.

CrackerboxPalace

A few tips:

To make the selling worthwhile try to stick to one variation of guppies/mollies to start with. If you want to dabble in crossbreeding there are lots of interesting things you could try, you might end up with more culls or lower priced/less desirable fish. Make sure you introduce new genetics for most generations to reduce defects, and be fairly strict with culling. Healthier fry will survive if you leave them in tank with their parents, so preferably don't use a breeder box.

Yeoy