Starting my aquarium back up with different kind of fish & a snail, questions...

Discussion in 'Snails' started by christin3rd, Dec 23, 2012.

1. c

christin3rd New Member Member

Hello there my name is Christina, this is my first time using these forums and I just had some questions about starting my aquarium back up... I have a 5.5 gallon freshwater tank and a month ago my goldfish died and I read a bunch of things that said the 5.5 was too small for him... So I decided to get different fish this time around. I'm not sure what was wrong with my fish because he was perfectly healthy and I left for a week came back and he looked terrible then died the next morning =(... So I obviously want to clean the whole tank out in case it was some kind of disease or something. But I'm assuming that I need to get rid of the rocks that were previously in the tank? (which is a shame cause I just put them in right before I left) and also what should I do about my aquarium decor/fake plants? How do I properly clean them? Along with the walls and bottom of aquarium?

Also, I am deciding to get 2 guppies and 1 snail... I just want to know as much as possible about the two. I know that I need a heater for both (which I have bought already) but I don't know if I need to feed snails anything? And is regular aquarium gravel okay for snails? or do I need to get those smooth looking rock gravel? Also, I have aquarium salt that I used to put in with two other chemicals when I added new water but now I'm not so sure that aquarium salt is okay to use with a snail? and how long do I need to filter out my new aquarium water before I put my new fish in?

I hope this isn't all too overwhelming but I am a newbie and just want to make sure everything is right. Thank you for any help and answers to any of my questions! =)

-Christina

2. kinezumi89

kinezumi89 Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome to FishLore! :)