Starting all over 10 gallon tank

1. Endowarrior21 Member Member

I am starting all over with my 10 gallon after it and my 5 gallon crashed due to Flukes that came on moss balls I got from Ebay. So now my 5 gallon is empty and soaking with hot water and vinegar. My 10 gallon is cycling with a raw shrimp in a mesh bag behind the sponge filter. I have been cycling for 2 weeks. The test results today were Ammonia 10,Nitrites 20, Nitrates 50, PH 7.2, and Temp 82.7. The plants I put in today are Anubias Nana , Christmas moss,and Water sprite. [​IMG]

2. musserump09 Well Known Member Member

prime and water change is the best I got.

3. Endowarrior21 Member Member

I have been using Prime for 10 years :) heck Seachem products are all I use but thank you for the tips

4. No Fishing Member Member

It's odd to get that high nitrates and ammonia with 0 nitrites. Seems like something isn't right. I would definitely do a few large water changes with prime and stability.

5. Endowarrior21 Member Member

My nitrites are 20 and all I have is Prime right now. I plan on doing a water change tomorrow

6. codyrex97 Well Known Member Member

That's a lot of ammonia and nitrites. Try to keep them at around 2-4 or else I believe they start to overpower the bacteria that's trying to eat them.

7. Endowarrior21 Member Member

I have had them higher during a cycle they are coming down now like I said I am doing a water change tomorrow than I will test tomorrow night.

8. codyrex97 Well Known Member Member

Interesting, well hopefully it levels out soon!

9. Zed Initiate Member