Starting A Shrimp Tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Meganrae8148, Jul 31, 2019.

?

What can u add in fish tank to insure proper shrimp molt?

1. Minerals

2 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. Calcium

2 vote(s)
    66.7%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Meganrae8148

Meganrae8148Valued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +20
    I'm starting a shrimp tank and have been researching. My tank is 10 gals with black gravel sponge filter moss balls and caves I've been wanting to do a shrimp tank forever. I'm planning on getting ghost shrimp cherry shrimp and blue velvet shrimp. Usually my last experience with ghost shrimp are they get white stripes and die. After further research it's due to improper molting I'm thinking. What do shrimp keepers add in there water to add needed minerals and calcium to shrimp tanks to insure proper molting? I have a regular api master test kit n will be getting one that test kh n all that stuff.

2. ystrout

ystroutWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +751
    Experience:
    4 years
    What's the PH/GH/KH of your tap water?

Mine is 7.8/12/12. I put some 11 total neo shrimp (blue velvet, red cherry, yellow Sunkist, etc) in my 75G tank. A year later, I have hundreds of them. This enormous colony of shrimp is even after heavy hunting from my gourami and puffer. Every time I clean my filter, there's hundreds of babies living in there I put into the tank.

I don't know a ton about shrimp, but the amount they reproduce says it all. If you can get your water close to my paremeters, your shrimp will breed well and be very healthy.

Just an FYI, I put a bunch of different colors in my tank and they interbreed. I like it and think they look cool, but if you want pure, perfect shrimp, don't mix them.

3. Grimfeather

GrimfeatherNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +20
    Experience:
    Just started