Start a Culture of Daphnia in a Mason Jar?

Discussion in 'Fish Food' started by TanksbyTim, Aug 2, 2015.

1. TanksbyTim

TanksbyTimValued MemberMember

Hello, everyone! I have recently been looking into a live food source for my Golden Cloud Mountain Minnows (Golden var. of White Clouds). They have been exhibiting spawning behavior and I want to offer them a live food source.

I have tried hatching baby brine shrimp before, but I found that it was too easy to overfeed the tank and that the water would foul pretty quickly as a result. I'm pretty sure that most worms would be too large for my fish (this is just a guess as I have no experience with those). So, I have been researching Daphnia.

I've seen some of those large indoor/outdoor setups, but I'm in a very small apartment without access to an outside space. I have found some incomplete information about culturing them in jars but I'm not exactly sure how I would do that. I could culture green water easily using the light for my tank that is suspended above the tank.

I need to know how I could successfully culture Daphnia (Moina, Pulex, or Magna; I'm not sure which would be best) in a small setup such as large mason jars. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated! If you know of a better live food source that I should try, please be sure to share! :)

2. OP
    OP
    TanksbyTim

Most of my research suggests that it would be easy to setup, but now I'm mostly concerned with whether or not a jar would be large enough to successfully culture them. I can't have any more tanks setup at the moment so a large jar would be my best option.

Green water, to my knowledge, is as simple as adding water from your tank to a jar with some spirulina powder. That seems to be an easy way to feed the Daphnia.