Stalled Cycle- Advice wanted

KatLovesCoffee

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Afternoon, guys. I'm new to fishlore, but not entirely new to fish keeping. This is my first fishless cycle I have attempted, but I am a little stumped. I have read some articles on this site about some members who have had the same problem. I was hoping that those of you who had experienced this could shed some light on it for me.

Tank: 10 gallon
Ammo: 4 ppm
Ni: 0 ppm
Na: 0ppm
Temp: 85* F
pH- 7.4

The water is cloudy.
I seeded the tank with a scoop of gravel.

I have been cycling, or trying to, since the 15th. I had some movement in ammonia, but it seems my cycle has stalled. It might have been the carbon in my filter sucking some of it up. Here is what I have come up with:

1. I am waiting for my LFS to get some kH and gH tests in so that I can see if that is the problem. However, one of my other smaller tanks is producing nitrites, so I don't know if the alkalinity is the problem.

2. Could this be a phosphate problem? I've read that if this is not present, you won't see bacteria growth.

3. Could I have over saturated the tank with ammonia?

I'm open to any and all advice. I just got my new HM bettas in from Thailand so I have to keep them in QT anyway for a while. But, I would like to get them situated as soon as it is safe and I can get cycled.

Thanks.

sirdarksol

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
I can't remember at what point the ammonia becomes toxic to the bacteria. I'm sure someone will be around with that.
It could very well be a nutrient issue. You may want to add a tiny amount of food (flake, pellet, whatever) to put some phosphorous and other nutrients into the water, just to see if it gets the process rolling again.

Kupcake

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years