Sponge Filter Questions

JAOF

Hello people!
Good Morning.
This thread is started by me because I am in a great dilemma with my recently aquired Sponge Filters.
First of all let me present what I know-
1.They run on an air pump
2.They are efficient Biological Filters.

Now I am having some problems assembling the Sponge Filters.
What is the purpose of the clear pvc tube that tops the filter?
Is it an essential component?
Would it not work without the pvc tube?
The store that I bought the SF from wasn't using lift tubes but I was a complete noob about Sponge Filteration so I beleived that it is the way they are intended to be used. But my box contains a pvc tube,and I found after seeing some pics on the internet that it is topped on the Sponge Filter.
Is there any harm if I do not use it?
My tank has two Over the Tank filters running and I just wanted to add some more Biofiltration.
Thanks for any input.

VWTDI02

I have a sponge filter in my shrimp tank. It originally was missing the lift tube (clear plastic tube) but I grabbed some tygon tubing and made one myself. The only real difference that I've been able to notice was in regards to my duckweed. With the lift tube I get less surface water movement than without it. So right now if I pull off the tube, there is a larger hole in the layer of duckweed.

When I originally spoke with the guy at the store he said that the difference is pretty much negligible. I agree but it depends on the filter. The lift tube insures that you aren't pulling water from above. Assuming where the air exits is far enough down in the sponge, it shouldn't make much of a difference. What I mean is that if the air is entering the water above the sponge filter and you don't have anything directing the flow (lift tube) you won't pulling water into the sponge. If the air is being released lower in the sponge, the only place the water can come from is the sponge.