Sponge filter in small tank with fry

Adam510

So I got a sponge filter meant for tanks up to 10 gallon and an air pump for 2-10 gallon for a separate tank meant for 2 platy fry. The bubbles are coming out way too fast and idk what to do because I have nowhere else to put the fry, for now the filter is off and I’m debating what do I do. The tank is a 2.5 gallon with just 2 platy fry in it. No filters for sale in my area for this size tank

awilkinson871

I put a check valve on my tubing after the air pump and before the tube goes into the tank. That way I can adjust the amount of air going in.

Upvote 0

Adam510

I put a check valve on my tubing after the air pump and before the tube goes into the tank. That way I can adjust the amount of air going in.
Oh okay, I could see if there’s any of those at the store near me, if not should I order a smaller air pump or sponge? Or both? I’m new to sponge filters it’s just what I have now plus I heard there good with fry so they don’t get taken in it

Upvote 0

awilkinson871

I would stick with what you have in case you ever upgrade the tank. You can get a check valve from Petsmart. You just cut the tubing and attach to each end. There is a knob you turn to reduce or increase the air flow.

Upvote 0

SouthAmericanCichlids

A smaller air pump, a smaller sponge filter wouldn't do anything really for flow. But most places sell check valves.

Upvote 0

Adam510

I would stick with what you have in case you ever upgrade the tank. You can get a check valve from Petsmart. You just cut the tubing and attach to each end. There is a knob you turn to reduce or increase the air flow.
Ok thanks I’ll go check mine and see if they have it

image.jpg
This is the size of the sponge compared to the fish and tank idk if that changes your guys mind

Upvote 0

Convoluted77