Sponge Filter + Air Pump For 20 Long

Ravynn
HI guys,

I'm picking up a 20 long in 2 weeks and i'd like to use a sponge filter. It'll house only kuhlI loaches and 2 nerite snails so I don't want high flow.

I'd like to over-filter the tank, so my question is what size sponge filter should I get? I have the option of getting the 75 or 40 Bacto-Surge sponge filters or a dual sponge filter rated for 60 gallons from Amazon.

I was also wondering about the air pump I'll need. I can't find anything online that tells me what size I need to power a sponge filter. I'm trying to keep filter costs low and a lot of the pumps are pretty expensive, plus I don't need tons of agitation.

The tank the fish are already in is cycled and I have 3 bags of biomax in it. How can I utilize this media to cycle the sponge filter?

Any suggestions would be highly appreciated! I've never used a sponge filter before.

r5n8xaw00
I know what you mean buy high flow, I worry about this for my betta.
Not sure if it will fit the bill for you, but you don't need big air pumps to drive sponge filters.
Here is what I am using right now in my 29 gallon, sponge filter....Link
Driving the sponge filter with this small air pump.....
It seems to be working just fine for me, in the picture you can see the air bubbles
29g.jpg it produces in my 29 gallon.

WTFish?
I have this in a small tank but they (also other brands) make bigger versions, I love it. Mine is on a Tetra whisper 10-30 pump, works great but won’t power a second one. If it were me with a 20 long I’d get two sponges and two pumps, 1 for each side. Sponge is under $10 and pump maybe $10-15....

mattgirl
is the one I have. It is fairly quiet and puts out all the air I need to run 2 sponge filters plus and extra air stone. It has been constantly running since Dec. 2015

r5n8xaw00
With using sponge filters, after use for awhile you will need to clean them. When you do a water change, gently squeeze them out in the old aquarium water inside the bucket.