29 Gallon Tank spawning kenyi

rollo

has anyone ever seen the male kenyI hold eggs? after the female has failed twice, the males is holding the eggs. is this very rare and what should I expect? this is my first try with mouth brooders. tnx Rollo

Nutter

Welcome to Fishlore Rollo.

Can't say that I've ever heard of the male holding eggs. Your sure that it's a male that is holding? Male & female are very distincly different (male yellow female blue). Is it possible for you to post a photo or video of your Kenyi?

You should really have more females if you want a chance of a successfull spawn. At least 3 females for each male so he can breed with the others instead of just harassing a single female while she's holding. The problem there is that you need at least a 55gal tank for any Mbuna so the other part of your breeding problems is that the tank just isn't big enough for them.

rollo

tnx Nutter, for you response, It is definetly the male that is holding. I know that the tank is small for the fish and that I should have more females but I can't set up a bigger tank at this time, if the kenyI don't workout I may and try and breed dwarfs of some sort. any suggestions for easy breeders, rams, kribensis,? I have successfully bred jewel chiclids, but agn they are bigger fish. tnx for your help, Rollo

Nutter

Very odd that the yellow male would be holding & I'm at a complete loss to explain it. Given that the eggs are actually fertilized while in the females mouth, in theory it is impossible for the male to be holding. The female would actually need to transfer the fertilized eggs to the male after the act has taken place & I just can't see that happening & certainly no one else has ever reported this behaviour in Mbuna that I'm aware of. Nature is strange though so I guess anything is possible.