spawning angels Help

1. teresaboucher Initiate Member

I was told by store that my fish is male...I have recently gotten two others..i come home after being one a few days to tons of eggs and some are white..the one who is supposed to be male is guarding and looks like fertilizing over and over wont let the two who look like females near..he has this pointed thing hanging down... is he fertilizing or his he a she..im new at fish in general

2. Harlebleondora Well Known Member Member

Although my angelfish knowledge is limited the one with the pointed thing is male. He is fertilising the eggs. Angelfish are usually biparental and both will guard the eggs. However it can take a while for an angelfish pair to work out how to do parent right, around several tries give or take a few.

Sorry if I sound critical but next time could you use paragraphs spaces? I had to read your post 3 times over to make sense of it.

3. Crissandra331 Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore :)

I don't think the LFS was completely honest with you. I don't think they would really be able to tell what Genders the Angelfish were unless he saw them while they were breeding or were adopting them out for someone who had seen them breed.
    They can be hard to sex and best time is during breeding when the papilla comes out. Males pointed, females rounded, but can still be hard to tell.

The white eggs have fungus and have died, they will eventually learn to eat those so they don't contaminate the other eggs.

As for the one guarding, are they just rubbing their underside or fanning as well?

Sometimes two females will pair up and lay eggs as well.
    I've even had Angels lay eggs just by themselves and keep the others away,
    While I've had a pair mate lay eggs and the males chases off the female,
    I've honestly had every combination with Angels.

Can you get a picture?

4. teresaboucher Initiate Member