Souls Adventure!

1. thesoulpatch

thesoulpatch Well Known Member Member

So I am currently a week in on my cycle. I have 20lbs of live sand, 8 lbs of dead rock that I am currently curing in my tank, and ~2 lbs of live rock in the tank as well.

I have tested the tank a couple times a week and the ammonia has risen to above 10ppm, it turned blue, then i did a water change to lower it. Since everything was crazy off the chart. I then tested it today, 3 days after a w/c, and the ammonia is at 1-2 ppm and the nitrite/nitrate is off the chart.

Basically I just want to know if this is on the right track, or if I need to do another w/c in order to lower everything. I know it is going to take some time, I have nothing planned with this tank for another 3-5 months anyways.

2. Tragic13

Tragic13 Valued Member Member

@NART What do you think?

3. stella1979

stella1979 Moderator Moderator Member

Well, I'm not very experienced with cycling SW. I have one cycled and am currently cycling a SW qt. I have cycled 4 tanks (1 SW & 3 FW) over the last six months and a general rule I follow is to do a water change if anything is off the charts. In your case I would do wc's until nitrItes were 3ppm or under. This is because I believe the advice that nitrItes over 4ppm can stall a cycle. I've followed this thread for both FW and SW and have yet to have a cycle last longer than a month.

Ammonia Instructions when Cycling with TSS+ or other Bacterial Starter

As for the bottled bacteria.. I use it, but I know it sometimes doesn't work due to viability. The bottled bacteria can be dead before you use it for a variety of reasons. My longest cycle was 30 days (dead bacteria, I think) and my shortest was 11 days (bacteria in that bottle was viable.) Just my 2¢ ;) That said, you are past the bacteria in a bottle stage... I think. Your rocks seem to be taking care of that for you. IMO, I would still do water changes and dose ammonia if necessary to make sure that cycle is moving along.