So what am I missing?

utkgreg

It's actually a legitimate question. As I'm still pretty new to marine systems, I'm not really sure if I need more equipment. Specifically reactors, but anything else out there too.

I have two aquariums. Both are pretty healthy, but both do have brown algae, assuming diatoms from being new. One has some small patches of hair algae, and one has green algae on the live rock. Both are set up as "beginner" reefs.

Here are my setups currently:
Tank #1
29 gallon
AquaC Remora
AquaClear 110 converted to refugium - LR rubble and chaeto inside
2 Koralia Nano Powerheads
~50 lbs live rock
20 lbs live sand
mix of softies and a few lps corals
2 Fancy Clowns
1 Hector's Goby
1 Spotted Mandarin
1 Firefish
CUC made up of peppermint shrimp, serpent star, nassarius, red foot, hermits, astrea
Coralife T5HO two bulb fixture and Coralife T5 two bulb fixture
-this one I struggle with keeping phostphates and nitrates at low enough levels. they're not in extreme range, just not optimal
Began tank in early October 2013

Tank #2
28 gallon euro
AquaC Remora
Large CPR Aquafuge - dsb and chaeto inside
1 Powerhead at the moment
~40 lbs live rock (about 30 lbs were dry reef rock, been in there now about six weeks)
20 lbs live sand
Also a mixture of softies, lps and some decorative macro algae
2 Maroon clowns
-more fish to come at a later date
-similar cuc to tank#1, sans red foot, and serpent.
Aquatic Life 1W 24 Bulb LED fixture
-this one my numbers I can keep great, but i'd like to add another fish or so in the future.
Began tank in late November