So, restarted cycle?

mikedf13

So, About a week and a half ago, I started cycling my tank with Tetra Safestart (not plus). I added 3 platy's (all male - kind of a mistake because, being an amateur, I mis-read the sex of the fish). They seem to be doing well - eating fine (chowed down on some Zuchinni this afternoon).

Reading the guide here on TSS, people generally agreed not to do a water change for two weeks (the rough estimate of when the cycle with TSS was done). Just feed your few fish. Wednesday, a few things happened - my filter, only a week old, and only having the ceramic ring bio-media in for a day [[its a aqueon quietflow 20 hob - I bought the aqueon 20 kit and upgraded the filter to the 20]] - said it needed a filter change. So, I pulled the canister out and it was black. I thought I had thorouly rinsed the media, but I may have missed the mesh bag I put it in... Then I checked the Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate levels in the tank - all said 0ppm. Which generally means, no cycle. Doing some research, I am pretty sure I crashed the cycle, as I know it happens...I had tested with strips [[not as accurate as the API Freshwater Masterkit]] a few days before and nitrite did show a small amount - like 0.25ppm - probably was higher. Not sure.

Anyways, I went and purchased a new bottle of TSS and added it to the tank but this time I went with TSS+ as it is more complicated. I am assuming that this restarts the two-week clock. Any advice from TSS+ users?

My fish do seem to be acting fine

Thanks for any help.

Michael

Dunk2

Welcome to FL!

When you’re doing a fish-in cycle, you can’t wait 2 weeks to do a water change. You’ll need to test your water parameters daily and do water changes often enough to keep ammonia and nitrites at safe levels for your fish.

You said you upgraded your tank but not the filter. What size tank did you get?

BuroKori