So much questions

1. TomTheFishNoob

TomTheFishNoob Valued Member Member

Hey all, sorry if this is so much questions to answer. I'm still pretty new to this hobby.

1. Currently I have 3 platies, 2 mollies, 9 neon tetras, 1 dwarf gourami, and 1 mystery snail in my 20 gallon tank. Is there anyway I can keep all these fishes without getting rid of any?

2. So my platies are 2 female and 1 male, one of the female is pregnant and I don't want any fry since my tank is already so full. What do I do?

3. I feed all my fishes tropical flakes but is it possible for anyone to give me an exact amount to feed them?

4. Is my male platt bloated or is he just fat? I think I'm feeding them too much.

5. Thinking of getting some shrimps, do shrimps take up a lot of space in my tank, people said I should get rid of the mollies but I developed a connection for them. They have so much personality.

[​IMG][​IMG]

2. M

Msdisastermaster New Member Member

In regards to the keeping all of the fish, you may be okay, or atleast borderline, if you get a very powerful filter. Like one for a 40 or 55 gal, they always help with keeping a tank healthy, happy, and clean :)

Secondly, imo a couple/few ghost shrimp do not take up alot of room/bioload. But I may be wrong.

3. Airth

Airth Valued Member Member

Agreed on the shrimp. They take up very little bioload. Be careful with the type you get though; ghosts aren't the easiest to breed so they won't over run your tank but cherry and other nanos are prolific and you'll soon have a herd.

4. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

Unfortunately I think you're a bit overstocked. Is this a 20 gal high or long?

If you upgraded to a 29 gal, I think you'd be fine to keep all of them though! If you didn't want to upgrade, I'd rehome the mollies.

I'd rehome the female platies and get 2 more males.

An exact amount is impossible to give, but a good rule of thumb is an amount the size of their eye (per fish) one to two times daily.