29 Gallon Tank So I was thinking of trying a SW tank

Status
Not open for further replies.

blkdeath75

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I stopped by the local Petco today and saw they had a couple of 29 gallons on clearance for SW starter kits. For $55(approx) they had the:
29 gallon aquarium
Lid w/ light
Heater
Instant Ocean(3 boxes of it)
Filter(I think but not 100%)

There may have been more included but it did say everything to start a saltwater tank. I have never done SW before so needless to say I am quite nervous about giving it a shot. I mean I have seen fish worth hundreds of dollars in SW setups before, but I have also seen them for $10-$15 as well(which is what I would try first). Before I make my decision to take the next step in my MTS issue, I would like to hear a bit of feedback on how hard the SW tank can be for beginners and I value FL members opinion quite a bit. Now before you say...."awww nothing to it" there's a few things I think I should mention:

1. Is there any similarities between FW and SW at ALL? As far as pH/nitrites/ammonias/water changes...ect?

2. Are there special filters needed versus the old HOB FW versions(thats if one is not included in the tank)

3. Is a small(29g) tank ok for a SW starter?

4. Will I be able to house only certain fish together? Or do all ocean fish of the appropriate size love all other fish...lol.(Meaning are there aggressive and community setups for SW tanks as well?)

5. Am I going to be in the poor house if I develop an MTS SW issue? Are the fish reasonably priced for the most part(I know they are more than FW fish)?

6. I am excited and scared to death of this hobby because living objects such as coral/rock and Anemones confuse the heck out of me. What exactly is live rock??

7. After typing all of this I'm, as I type, considering sticking to FW just because I'm afraid I would destroy a SW setup.