Snail shell keeps filling with air Question 

mattmf1

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
hi,

i am new to FL and fish keeping as well. I have a 46 gallon tank and everyone is healthy and happy. my question is that one(maybe both, can't tell the difference) of my snails seems to get his shell filled with air once in a while. i assume this is from my bubbles rock/curtain. i will find him floating at the top of my tank swirling in the current. i then tip him up side down and bubbles come out and he sinks to the bottom and goes on his merry way. my question is, do you think he will learn his lesson or should i get rid of the snails or bubble curtain?

thanks again for all the help this site has already provided me.

raptorsvt79

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
it may depend on the snail...i had one which did it once and learned his lesson, but later on, a second snail...kept getting filled with air and eventually died...i don't know if he was maybe sick...

Jackie Frost

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
My apple snail used to get caught in the bubbles from the bubble stone. I used to have the heater and air stone right next to each other. What would happen is that Loop (my snail) would climb on the heater, the heater would unexpectantly switch on, and then he would let go, but instead of sinking to the bottom, he would get caught in the bubble current and float up and down obviously terrified and clamped tight in his shell. Loop would probably go on like that for hours if I didn't rescue him.

Even though I admit to being somewhat entertained by this spectacle. (It would happen at least twice a day and the day care children always laughed.) at the end I thought it was a bit cruel and I moved the bubble stone to the other side of the tank.

Just thought I'd share.