Snail Shell Health Question

Discussion in 'Snails' started by Shibabae, Apr 19, 2018.

1. Shibabae

Shibabae New Member Member

What can I do to improve the health of my snail's shells? I got these two apple snails about two months ago and they have been growing so fast. I occasionally feed them betta fish food and algae wafers because there is barely any algae growth in my tank.

They live with a betta fish and some moss balls.

When I first got them their shells were bright yellow but now all the new growth is a pale yellow.

Before (when I bought them 2 months ago)
    0EB22C2A-14E6-4B94-9C86-D4C02615D48E.jpeg
    3328D244-C6B3-4B34-99E8-C0282602BEE2.jpeg

Now
    40756D2E-2BF3-4D81-A1D8-8CA40A7A7D0B.jpeg

2. Mazeus

Mazeus Well Known Member Member

Firstly, I will start the post by saying that I am no expert. However, you don't mention in your post what kind of calcium supplements (if any) you are giving them. Do you give them any foods high in calcium (snail jello with added calcium powder,cuttlebone)? It does look like they have a deficiency which is causing their shell to grow in this way. Other experts may be able to advise. There is a mystery snail care sheet here Mystery Snail Care Sheet.

3. Skye_marilyn

Skye_marilyn Well Known Member Member