Snail question Question

Discussion in 'Snails' started by Bentendo, Dec 30, 2009.

1. B

Bentendo New Member Member

I haven't gotten my aquarium yet but I'm just curious about snails. I haven't found many articles on them on FishLore so I thought I'd come here to ask a few questions regarding them:

1. Do snails harm the aquarium in any way?
    2. Are snails beneficial to the aquarium in any way?
    3. Is there any reason I should buy a snail? (I want one, but beyond that is there anything else?)
    4. Do they bother the fishes and do the fishes bother them?

Thanks for helping! I'm completely new to this hobby but I really can't wait to get started, but before I do I want to do AS MUCH RESEARCH AS POSSIBLE!

2. Fish'd

Fish'd Valued Member Member

I've heard that if you get a male and female the population EXPLODES. Then people resort to buying fish to eat them. :\

I think snails eat some of the algae off of the sides of the glass and control it a bit, though I can't tell you how effective they are.

I don't think they bother anything, really. Though I hear Assassin Snails kill other members of the tank. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, though.

3. OP
    OP
    B

Thanks! :;thx

4. Fish'd

Fish'd Valued Member Member

WAIT WAIT
    They might eat plants, too.

No problem. :3

5. D

David C Well Known Member Member

The typical pond snail will breed out of control if you over feed your tank, but otherwise they will stay in check for most part. They don't eat healthy plants, only the decaying portions that are dead anyway. I use yo-yo loaches to keep my populations in check because I have around 50-100 in my tank (can't be sure but there are a lot). Assassin snails eat other snails so people will get them to help kill off the pond snails. They are good algae eaters, but I would prefer a bristlenose pleco or some oto's, much easier to control.

Dave

6. OP
    OP
    B

Thanks! Oh, and :;rocker at Kansas!

7. fishdude360

fishdude360 Valued Member Member