Small Channel Catfish(Tenporary Habitat)

1. a

ashbonsai1200 New Member Member

I am a compleeeeete beginner. Emergency Situation.

There is a lake near my house. Mysteriously, small channel catfish of 8-11 inches appeared. They end up getting eaten but that is disturbing the ecosystem.
    Some fishermen and fishsellers got them out and are selling them with other, bigger(~20"), catfish from a different ecosystem.

I bought one a month ago when all this started. Now the sellers are reauesting if I could house these fish till they reach 15" at the least so they are not as easily gobbled up(They are literally fish chow chow right now). My friend got 2 of the small ones too but she can't take more.
    I only have. 17 gallon tank; 16 gallons of water can be safely kept.
    There is nothing but a filter inside. I keep an average of 1.5 teaspoons of salt on and do a 60% waterchange every weekend or when needed.

I also keep an average of 3 drops of a blue treatment liquid, which i was told was a much lower dose than that used for a 3 day treatment and helps with injuries, parasite problems, bacterial and fungal infections. But this is from a shop that also sold me stones and plastic plants which were possibly causes of problems such as columnaris(a companion fish, 9", i got for her died) and food such as dried shrimo and small red usual fish food which another shop told me was unsuitable and earned me a weird look.

I am now feeding the one female i have - freeze dried tubifex worms.
    She started of in a bucket. Went back there for a while when the columnaris incident happened and now she is back again in a barren tank. She grew an inch from 10" to 11".

If she survives, I may volunteer for the other fish. SHOULD I? IF I DO, WHAT DO I NEED TO DO?